On Hold

Other Currencies

Burian on Modernist Russian Music

O moderní ruské hudbě: populární úvod ke studiu [On modern Russian music: a popular introduction to its study]. Malá edice Odeon (series title), vol. 1.

Prague: Odeon, 1926. Small octavo (17.5 × 11 cm). Original printed wrappers; 29, [3] pp. Text block detached from wrappers; else a very good, uncut and unopened copy.

First edition of this short work on modern Russian music, by the Czech Devětsil-affiliated and Dadaist composer, poet, director, and musician, E. F. Burian (1904-1959). The essay focuses on composers including Skriabin, Stravinsky, Prokofiev, Polovinkin, Obukov, as well as the work of the first conductor-less orchestra of the Soviet Union, Persimfans.

As of April 2021, KVK and OCLC show three copies in North America, at the Getty, Stanford, and Yale.

Book ID: P6770

Price: $125.00